the artlog maquetteers

Lucy at Box Elder runs a crackingly good blog, visits to which I have found always pay dividends. She is a woman made of the right stuff, who knows how to negotiate life with wisdom. Moreover she has a skill with words and expresses herself beautifully. Hit the Box Elder link in my blogroll for a glimpse of a warm heart, a generous nature and a great appreciation of the important things. I paid a call today and found this unexpected paean, which has simultaneously surprised and delighted me. Lucy has clearly heeded my recent Call for Maquettes, and wasting no time has come up with the first of four characters for a ‘Musicians of Bremen’ project. Her charming little donkey has knocked my socks off, and I hope it’s not going to be too long before we see the dog, the cat and the cockerel.

Meanwhile Chloe Redfern at Slightly Triangle has posted images of some beautiful horse maquettes she’s been working on. She’s currently investigating animation programmes with which to bring these charming equestrian creations to life, and I for one can’t wait to see the results.

Painter Philippa Robbins has been dusting off some maquettes of a darker persuasion that she had been quite certain she’d thrown away. Mercifully they’ve turned up again… or perhaps that should read, spookily they’ve turned up again… and a sad baby and a partially flayed Red Riding Hood/self-portrait, carrying the eponymous cloak, may be seen HERE at the ‘notes’ section of her website.

Leonard Greco is to be congratulated twice. For a start he’s recently taken to maquette-making with almost demonic energy, and indeed, inspiration. (Read on to find out more!) Leonard’s Babylon Baroque has been on my Blog Roll for quite a while, where his musings on art and life have so often lured me in for rather longer than I intended. However he rarely shows his own work there due to a few regrettable occasions when he fielded comments that were unkind and unhelpful. Blogs sometimes attract these ‘hit and runs’, and in Leonard’s case the experience of them really dented his confidence in online sharing. Recently, and with prodding from me (I won’t say I nagged the poor man, though I suspect I came close) he has with some understandable misgivings launched a new blog, Boondockss Babylon, where he plans on posting both finished works and work-in-progress reports. You can find the link to it in my Blog Roll. I urge Artlog readers to visit him there and to offer their support in the comments boxes. Show Leonard that his earlier negative experiences were not the ways of the dedicated blogging community. Help him to feel more confident about sharing his work. We artists spend a lot of time alone, and although it takes a bit of courage to start sharing work processes online, I have found the experience to be both liberating and energising. I want Leonard to benefit in the same way. After producing a first effort at maquette-making that is pretty impressive by any standards, he embarked on a most magnificent and ornate figure that fills me with glee at its sheer, grotesque exuberance. It’s yet another example of how artists produce extraordinarily diverse and inventive works from a single, simple technique. Do applaud Leonard for his courageous leap in the dark, and prove to him that the blogging community at the Artlog is a generous and supportive one.

 …

The powers that be over at MoMA Wales, Machynlleth, have notionally agreed to a corporeal exhibition of artists’ maquettes in 2014. This will be my first spin at curating an exhibition. But if 2014 sounds a long way off (take my word, it isn’t) don’t hesitate to start making, because the final date for submissions of the Artlog Exhibition of Maquettes is the 1st May this year. So get snipping, Maqueteers!