the last lap

The last batch of enamelware arrived by post this afternoon. Already I’ve completed the ‘oven’ plate and I’m just waiting for it to dry before photographing it. My thanks to all who’ve left encouraging comments about this little bit of fun, both here and on Facebook. I’m surprised at how popular the project has been, and happy it’s given so many of you pleasure. Raising a smile isn’t always my aim when I’m working at the easel on the ‘serious’ work, but it’s heartening that the Hansel and Gretel service has an appeal that’s reached so far. I produced it simply for the pleasure of making, and were it not for the Artlog I doubt it would ever have been seen except by visitors to Ty Isaf. I hope the project encourages some of you to pick up your ‘porcelain pens’ and get creative with them.

18 thoughts on “the last lap

  1. Very impressive collection, they certainly have great appeal. Would not be at all surprised by their success if you brought them to the mass market. I know I would want a set. I love how charming they are, and THEN you realize what you are really seeing.

  2. Too good to eat and drink from! Although food would look marvellous cleverly arranged around the designs. I can imagine that children especially (or us childlike adults) would have great fun with this at mealtimes.

  3. Wonderful, lovely things! I’ve enjoyed following these posts. I’d love to have schokolade und kuchen with these dishes, sort of like going back to childhood tea parties with enamel mugs! Just curious, why did you choose German (or Dutch) words for just these two items?

    • Marja-Leena, I guess for me the languages of Perrault is French, and the language of Grimm, German. For my Alphabet Soup submission I’m doing a fairy-tale primer with images from Hansel and Gretel using German words. And they slipped onto the Chocolate-pot!

      A witch is a witch, but she’s so much more witchy when she’s a ‘Hexe’!

  4. Wow, they look amazing all together as a group… which is, of course, not to say that they don’t look great alone… but seeing them all together is splendid!

      • Hmm…. thanks, but for the moment the only sort of plate I’m letting myself work on is the copper sort. You have made me really want a set of illustrated eating plates now, though, so I think there is a very good chance that I will try this out one day.

        • Well bear the following in mind. Enamelware is quite cheap. Porcelain pens are cheap. The work can be done quickly. (Design aspects aside, none of the plates took me more than an hour to complete, sometimes less.) So, all in all, not a bad investment of time.

          Only sayin’!

  5. I fell madly and passionately in love with your gingerbread mugs, but haven’t had a second to post. Can I say I love them? I love love love them! They don’t just bring a smile, they bring outright joy.

    • Ha ha! So I gather you like ’em a LOT!!!

      Well you know the answer. Buy in some enamelware and a bunch of porcelain pens, and get working!!!Go to the comments boxes of the previous post, and there you’ll find detailed instructions I wrote up for another Artlogger on working with porcelain pens and paint. E-mail any queries. I’ll help if I can.

      (-;

  6. I’m going to look for supplies, Clive, because here at the studio we desperately need some non-breakable but fun dishes… we are down to two intact plates at the moment! But no rest for the wicked, witches or otherwise: that sort of play will have to wait a bit while other projects come to completion!

    • Get your supplies in now, and then when you have the free time, you’ll be primed and ready for the off! You can be thinking too about the designs. I’ve found that having made the designs on paper before working on the plates, has helped a lot. By the time I had the enamel plates in my hand, I’d worked out exactly how to organise the stencils.

Leave a Reply

