today on Marly Youmans’ blog: The Longing for Depth and Wholeness

 

Marly Youmans at The Palace at 2:00 a.m., June 21st

“Recently I wrote some sketches about fans and paparazzi as part of my current series of tiny stories, since I’m still too busy to start a novel. I’ve never been much interested in the idea of celebrity or celebrities, but I accidentally bumped into a fan site for Kristen Stewart and Robert Pattinson (the way one does on the internet, following a thread through the infinite Borgesian labyrinth) and then explored some more.
 
At first, I felt a tad appalled–the latter in part because a great many fans don’t particularly care about grammar, syntax, clarity, and other tools of the trade most dear to my heart. Of course, I don’t care for a great many other things . . . so I won’t reproach them. Clear thinking for me is made of words in the right order, but it doesn’t mean all that much to a lot of people active on the internet. Neither does proofreading. But plenty of people have lived and died without deep engagement with the written word. For that matter, most of our human time on the planet has passed away without written words.
 
The fascination I felt lay elsewhere. I was intrigued by the idea that a large group of fans were building a story, collaborating on a kind of fiction, telling themselves a thing they needed to hear. It is a story based on clues, and like fiction, it appears as a kind of lie that is more real and compelling than surface reality. The writers are detectives, the story itself a tale of romance between two people who are considered quirky (that is, they are often surprising in behavior, and they have been part of the mainstream but now swim against it in indie films) and smart and good-looking. The tale is clearly related to their roles in theTwilight movies because it is very much concerned with ideas about the ideal and the permanent.
 
The effort to make the story involves a lot of analysis, the sort of analysis that an engaged reader might apply to a poem or novel or scripture. Every word is scrutinized, every image searched for information–shared clothing, a young woman’s weight gain and loss, sardonic words, tossed-off comments that may or may not be serious. These fragments are compared with other fragments, the puzzle pieces to a larger picture. Tone, mood, and attitude of the characters involved become important and are discussed endlessly. These ‘shippers’ of an ongoing love relationship between the two stars (love, marriage, a new house, a baby) are doing the thing that engrossed readers do. And isn’t that curious?
 
They’re not the only story makers. The ‘haters’ make their own counter-stories, based on a different reading of information or built off dismissing the stories of the shippers. These stories tend to be more perfunctory and less developed because they are primarily rejections.
 
Oddly, this sort of storytelling brings up issues about mainstream culture and deep human desires. Why did an obsessed group of fans need to make that story, one in which they piece together clues to prove that Robert Pattinson and Kristen Stewart live in a private, perfect, joyful world of their own?
 
Our dark age worships a debased mainstream culture dominated by sex, violence, and speedy electronic jumps from one thing to another. It opposes Melvillean “deep diving,” high art, thoughtfulness, and the spirit. In such a time, it is illuminating to look around and see where storytelling takes hold of people and why. In this particular case, the many fans obsessed with two celebrity figures work to uncover, build, and support a dream of love, a dream of wholeness–an old-fashioned dream that love can have depth and permanent meaning and soul, and that a man and a woman can fit together to become one perfect, complete thing. This dream expresses a core human longing for depth and meaning, raised up from a mainstream culture that is increasingly drained of substance.”

 

Marly Youmans

 

My reply, June 23, 2014

“There’s much here to ponder on, not least the whole idea of fan-fiction. I’m engaged by the idea of it. As a child I made a fiction ‘in my head’ about Tarzan. I constructed an inner world that wasn’t written down or shared. It wasn’t based on Edgar Rice Burroughs… I was probably eight or nine… but was stitched together from a mix of films I’d seen, and some of my Tarzan annuals and comics. It was also consciously secretive, because I’d created scenarios I knew wouldn’t be approved of by adults: rather innocent sexual idylls that comforted me in a world where at a deep level I felt isolated and without role-models and shared experiences. We shouldn’t forget what a dark place the pre-enlightened, pre-Stonewall, pre-sexually-liberated world was for children who felt ‘other’. The way homosexuality was represented in films and comedies on TV was not reassuring to fearful, impressionable young minds.

While I’ve never read any fan-fiction, I rather approve of the notion of taking ownership. Better of course if the ownership is of something with a literary level that might spur the fans to improve their word skills, but whatever the expression, I think it’s heartening when people aspire, no matter how clumsily, to creativity.

At the higher-end of the notion of taking a story and turning it into something else, I was excited back in 2012 when the possibility arose of my series of drawings and Catriona Urquhart’s sequence of poems, collectively titled ‘The Mare’s Tale’, being turned into a chamber-work with a libretto. I balked at the idea of any adaptation of the images and the poems into a too-literal narrative, and discussed this with the librettist Damian Walford Davies when I briefed him. So he took the original and biographical underpinnings of the poems and artworks… those being the childhood trauma of my father as described first-hand to me when he was in his eighties, and my later account of the ‘haunting’ the event transformed into in his latter days… and re-imagined it into into a dark, glittering psychodrama of a fiction that entirely honoured the sources, both in tone and in skill. Not exactly fan-fiction… though Damian has been articulate in his love of both the visual and poetic sources of ‘his’ ‘Mare’s Tale’, as has Mark Bowden the composer… but definitely something that touches on the ‘borrowed’.

I would hazard that whatever reservations authors may have about their characters and scenarios being hijacked by fans, and however the results pan out, they must feel excitement that their works have such a potent effect on readers’ imaginations.

On a level closer to home, I privately shared with you some painful events that over the past few years had caused me a great deal of anguish. You quite unexpectedly reworked them into miniature fictions that blew my socks off, so ravishingly jewel-like was the precision of your language, and so insightful your reworking of particular events into a universal mythology. Fables for our age. Moreover they radically changed the way I felt about what had happened to me. THAT’S the power of art.”

 

Clive Hicks-Jenkins

Images by Clive Hicks-Jenkins from Marly Youmans’ novel Glimmerglass

(Due out September from Mercer University Press)

5 thoughts on “today on Marly Youmans’ blog: The Longing for Depth and Wholeness

  1. Oh, Clive, how did I miss this? Thank you. I do think it is interesting to try and see impulses and desire to worship (that is what it is, essentially, in many ways) through the eyes of those who are dreaming their odd dreams. Because I think these practices which may seem absurd hold clues about the state of things, what people are lacking and how they try to replace it–to shore up fragments against ruin.

    • It seems to me that since time immemorial mankind has been devising strategies against ruin. Deities of all complexions, genders and varieties have been enlisted to help stave off misfortune and make sense of disorder, and you may well be right in thinking that these fan-fiction re-workings are yet another manifestation of the unstoppable desire by the God-less to create stories to comfort themselves. That rings a bell for me.

      One thing is certain. Whether or not we subscribe to a formal, faith-based system… and you and I are at opposite poles in that realm… or are attempting to hold the darkness at bay with constructs of our own making, the world has ever been filled with people expressing ideas by myriad means: literature, painting, sculpture, poetry, drama, film, music, puppetry, all are creativities that can help those who make and those who consume them, better understand the universe. We are all improved by being explorers.

      With regard to my own occasional practice of depicting miraculous events, I’ve always maintained that while I have no belief, I believe in what I paint while I’m painting it. (Perhaps that sets me in company with Thomas, who can only believe once he’s inserted his finger into the livid slit of the spear-wound.) And while I paint, there is an easing of fear, confusion and aimlessness. Painting is the shedding of light on things that might otherwise prevent me from sleeping at night. That’s pretty much how it is for me, a constant patching-up of some almighty tear in the fabric of heaven with acts of creativity. I suspect it’s more common than many might admit to.

      Marly, I’ve always been hugely impressed by your expressions of a faith I don’t share. They move me, and make me better than I am. I think they improve my world and condition. But it’s the expression of your belief that moves me, rather than belief itself. (If that makes any sense at all.) I read The Book of the Phoenix. 1: 1-40: The Prophet Fed by a Raven, devised by you for your chapter of the Lund Humphries monograph, and it makes my hair stand on end and tears smart in my eyes. If I’m in a condition to ask for it when the moment comes, it’s what I’d want read to me as I die. That’s as close as I get to faith. Words making a bridge from one mind to another. Humanity touching humanity.

      • Oh. Wow. That’s an overwhelming thing to say–not that we always get to choose deathbed events and readings!

        I think that there’s something completely seamless between you in the act of making something beautiful out of the materials of creation and the Spirit who moves as he/she will. If you can go to the fount of things where the streams of creation start, then go, and call it what you will. So there.

  2. Enjoyed reading this extract from Marly’s blog, I’ve not thought about the fan sites in this way before, but it does start a fascinating train of thought. I go to comic conventions sometimes and the extent to which fans have fallen in love with their idols and made stories to weave into their own lives is staggering and vey sweet.
    Clive, I was so chuffed to read about your Tarzan stories, ‘that’s just like me’ I thought, it was heartening. When I was about the same age I once went into an English language test at school where we were asked to write a story about a given subject. I started writing, got so absorbed I forgot where I was and only came to when the bell went and we had to hand in our stories. I wrote about going hitch hiking and getting a lift with a burly, handsome truck driver who took me to exotic foreign parts. In a similar way my childhood sexuality blossomed in the story with physical closeness with my man, although no sex went on, I didn’t even know what sex was. The story obviously rang alarm bells, though, and was duly handed to my dad; his awkward attempts to ‘talk to me about it’ were both funny and sad. I wonder where that story is now, I’d give a lot of money to have it back!

    • The young have to learn how to survive and make sense of their feelings as best they can, according to the times and the social attitudes of their countries/communities. While the UK is now a good place to grow up openly gay, there are still far too many places in the world where homosexuals are unprotected by law, and their persecution is sanctioned by the governments. I’m not going to Egypt or to Russia any time soon, even though both are countries I’d love to visit.

      Phil, it makes me happy that as children you and I developed similar strategies. Shared experiences cement friendships.

Leave a comment