the artlog exhibition of maquettes: part three

Welcome to the first exhibition at the Artlog. It evolved out of the interest of regular visitors in my practice of making articulated paper maquettes for use as compositional aids.  A few of them felt encouraged to produce maquettes of their own, and thereafter everything just blossomed.

MAQUETTEERS

Rima Staines: out of the woods

Peter Stevenson: magic lantern man

Lucy Kempton: beasts of Bremen

Steph Redfern: tongue-lashing

Rima Staines: out of the woods.  Rima is known to many from her inspirational blog, The Hermitage. At her home on the edge of Dartmoor she conjures the Celtic twilight in her meticulously-drafted creations, and the maquettes she made for this exhibition carry with them the unmistakeable whiff of woodsmoke and green places. Her partner Tom Hirons is a mask-maker (among many other things) and as a one-time mask-maker myself I feel a great deal of warmth toward this couple who have a wealth of making-skills flowing abundantly from their fingertips! Rima is no stranger to maquette-making, and if you visit her site be sure to view the animations she’s produced. Films of the most delicate artistry and sensibility.
 …
Bell-Dancer

In the above image Rima’s bell-dancer maquette shares a stage with an intriguing array of companion objects. Note the drying paintbrushes at bottom left. In our house too there are windowsills at every turn littered with  paintbrush-stuffed jam jars. It’s clearly the defining visual motif of those who paint!  Rima’s second maquette (see below) has been left in separate pieces (no brads holding it together) because she feels she may in the future use the figure to make an animation.

Wayfarer

Peter Stevenson: magic lantern man. Peter is an illustrator and story-teller. A couple of years ago he acquired a magic lantern, and now he combines both his skills in story-telling magic lantern performances featuring his drawings and paintings. Peter calls his lantern-slide The Magical Illuminarium. The following maquettes will be viewed as projections in a forthcoming Magical Illuminarium show. I love the scale of the girl next to such a massive beast.

….

Lucy Kempton: beasts of  Bremen. Lucy is better known here as both a friend to the Artlog and for her heart-warming blog Box Elder. But today we present her as a Maquetteer, with wonderful creations of her dog Molly and a set of charming beasts devised  on the theme of The Musicians of Bremen. Molly regularly features at Box Elder, and although I’ve never met her… she lives in France… it seems to me from all I have read and seen on the blog, that she has been most charmingly captured in this maquette.

The lovely Molly

The Musicians of Bremen

Steph Redfern: tongue lashing. Steph is an artist and the mother of Chloe Redfern, whose horse and hare maquettes were in Part Two of this exhibition. Like mother, like daughter, it would seem, as both have produced animal maquettes. Steph’s delightful chameleon is seen here on the prowl for a meal.

More Maquettes in Part Four, soon.

14 thoughts on “the artlog exhibition of maquettes: part three

  1. Pingback: cut-outs, animation ideas | 60pix

  2. these are marvelous! All of them. (i’ve come via Lucy’s invitation to check out this fascinating exhibition) Thank you for curating this for us!

  3. Oh my this has been fun. What a visual feast, I hesitate to commend one artist for fear of neglecting another that I also found enchanting. Because my attention span is next to nil I will focus on today’s offerings (although jodi’s fanciful work is haunting this keyboard).

    The chameleon is adorable. We had them in my Ft Lauderdale garden. The artist captured their peculiar charm perfectly. Makes me realize how I miss their antics now that I live in the San Diego desert.

    I’ve seen Molly on Box Elder, adorable as made by the Creator and by the creator. The Bremen beasties are marvelous but I have a soft spot for the rooster.

    That bear, oh that is wonderful, the trainer(?) is also wonderful, I love the splotchy paintwork with the very fine attention to detail. Very sophisticated and skilful.

    But I must confess a certain partiality to Rima’s bell dancer (thought you had said belly dancer-must have been the Orientalist background of the figure). How marvelous this little being is, and so large. Lovely. I am also fond of Mr. Wanderer, a little Medieval marginalia come to life.

    As always dear Clive thank you for bringing this group of talent together. You are a good shepherd for a new age of mad clippers. I hope you get some rest.

  4. Totally captivated by all of these — so different, each an interpretation of the personality of the maker! Like you, Clive, I’ve never met Lucy Kempton but she is a longtime blog-friend and qarrtsiluni contributor, and so it’s such a delight to see her Bremen musicians, an entirely new kind of creativity from a very creative person! (Wishing I’d had time to take part myself!)

  5. Again, more wonderful creations. What a collection thus far! I don’t even bother to try to choose favourites among them as they are so unique. I do wonder if I haven’t met that Wayfarer fellow during my wanderings though! (-:

  6. WOW
    i love the dancing bear and the sky behind him! and how steph redfern made all the little pieces in that style around her chameleon…
    the musicians are such a fun gang, what a great idea!
    i am curious to see rima’s animation, that would be great–and i would love to see that horse puppet in the background in that last photo, too! i like the way attaching her lady at the belly button makes her hips move 😀

  7. These are just beautiful. I love the Bremen musicians, but the lovely Molly is just that – lovely. The bear and little girl are fab, and the girl on the bear’s shoulder reminds me of a photo I will send of a sculpture of an enormous hare with a small bear (Barnaby) on its shoulders which was at the Yorkshire Sculpture Park near Doncaster. (The bear belonged to the reception class at my school. He enjoyed various trips with children during term time and the staff during school holidays; his diary was logged and photographed – one year he came to the Eden Project with me where the staff joined in the fun and gave him his own ticket. A well travelled and educated little bear.)

  8. Another beautiful array. I wait all day looking forward to the evening, when of course it is morning in the Northern Hemisphere, knowing there will be more delights to marvel over once the top of the world wakes up.

  9. WOW, all of these are captivating. I love the musicians of Bremen… we hear the same music here in la Crabouille. What an extraordinary variety you have collected… 12 artists so far. How many more?

    P.S. have you made one for this expo Clive, or is that a silly question?

    • There are quite a few more. The next post will kick off with Anita Mills’ beautiful and clever maquettes for jewellery.

      In answer to your second question, no, I haven’t had the time to make a maquette. The folding-books project… for which I’m making two submissions and have been roped in to make the poster/invitation design too… plus the cover and decorations for Marly’s forthcoming book, have all come at the same time. These posts have been set aside for the Artlog Maquetteers. After all, people can always see my stuff here. Remember I recently posted ad nauseum about my own maquettes for L’Histoire du Soldat, so I’ve decided to stay in the background on this one.

Leave a comment