clive writes to beth at phoenicia publishing

Dear Beth
The decorations have become increasingly formalised in the idiom of the folk tradition. The more I read Thaliad the more I realise I shouldn’t go head to head with Marly when the drama gets gothic, or between us we’d be tearing the readers apart. (I found the same when I illustrated Peter Shaffer’s Equus for the Old Stile Press.) So I continue to boil down to an essential iconography that appears to be decorative in the most traditional manner, though comes with the barbs and stings that one might expect in a post-modern reinvention. Today I’m attempting to render the aftermath of  a blood-letting in a way that gives a frisson while still flirting with the formally decorative. Saul Bass’s title graphics for Anatomy of a Murder spring to mind.

5 thoughts on “clive writes to beth at phoenicia publishing

  1. Knew you were drawn to that part, and it is so interesting to see what you make of it–that stylized connection/disconnection. I think this folkart-like mode brings out the idea of “twinning” that is literal in the case of the twins but exists elsewhere in the poem in a metaphorical way.

    • Good. I’m glad you think that.

      For me Thaliad is so vivid in its creation of a completely plausible world, and so rich in language, that I felt anything getting too close to descriptive by way of decoration would be a mistake. I see it as my job to provide a visual mood, and the idiom of folk-art seems to be just the thing.

Leave a comment