the life and art of meri wells


Those of you who’ve visited the Artlog for a while will know Meri Wells’ work from previous references. She made the ceramic figure that presides over our garden from a plinth above the steps leading to the lawn. In the spring and winter when the hedges are lower, Meri’s horned beast surveys the valley and keeps vigil. It’s the first thing visitor’s notice as they drive along the lane approaching our house.

Recently I’ve written posts about two painters whose work I admire, both of them my close friends. It’s good to be able to turn to those who understand what it is that you get up to every day in a studio. We encourage each other, share triumphs and disasters and offer advice and sympathy in equal measure according to whatever dramas and impending deadlines are impacting our lives. Meri too is a close friend, and moreover because we live not so very far away from each other, we meet up reasonably frequently. Meri’s ceramic works not only populate our house and garden, but also find their ways into my still-life paintings. (You can find two paintings featuring a Meri wells ceramicĀ HERE.) I find her inspirational as a person and as an artist, and my mind is always teeming with ideas whenever I’ve spent time with her in her home and workshop.

Meri’s Workshop.

I’m convinced it’s simply not possible for those who’ve been fortunate enough to visit Meri at her home outside Machynlleth to think about her ceramics without a deep appreciation of how the place in which she lives and works seeps into her art. The house… pictured at the top of the page… contains a beautiful gallery tucked into the wooden beams under the eaves, and here her creations jostle for space and the attention of visitors. I always need time by myself in the gallery so that I can better give myself up to concentration. Last night we had supper with her and afterwards slept over. This morning I woke early and had an hour in there before anyone else, apart from Jack, was awake. Here he is, about to jump through the ‘secret door’ that leads from the guest bedroom to the gallery.

A miniature porcelain parade winds its’ way along a shelf. The invention and spirit of these creations is simply staggering.

New arrivals in the gallery are these enchanting ‘rock-hopping imps and angels’ that sway and tremble on their supporting wires. I love them so much that the three ended up returning home with me!

The kiln.

Finally, some images from inside the alchemist’s laboratory. Charmingly ramshackle and with feasts for the eye in every direction, in summer the workshop is a delight. But it’s ferociously cold and draughty come winter, and only someone as determined and spirited as Meri could face the hardship and continue working in there. She’s a marvel.


4 thoughts on “the life and art of meri wells

  1. Pingback: 2013 in photos: A visit to Meri Wells’ studio

Leave a comment