21 thoughts on “the enamelware chocolate-pot

    • The pens I use are Marabu. You’ll find them HERE. They produce a wide variety of colours, but although my first attempt with the pens was to decorate a large vintage china charger in dark blue and yellow, I think overall that I prefer the simplicity of black on white.

      Be sure to purchase the 1 mm tip pens, as they are the finest. Remember that this stuff comes out a little like nail varnish, and so the thicker tips are quite clumsy.

      The Hansel and Gretel enamelware has been done both with fibretips and Marabu Porcelain Paint… which can be purchased in jars… that I stippled through stencils. The pens were used for any parts that needed to be drawn, like the writing and the leaves on an earlier set of plates you can see HERE, while the stencils were used principally to achieve sharp-edged shapes.

      To make a stencil I strip the waxed paper from a piece of transparent sticky-backed plastic of the type used to protect book covers, and press it down firmly on the enamel. The plastic will take a biro, and so once it’s in place, I draw the shapes I need to remove to create the stencil. Then with a scalpel I cut them out. The pressure required to cut through the plastic with a keen blade doesn’t seem to perceptibly scratch the enamel. I peel out the cut shapes with a pair of tweezers, being careful not to tear any edges of the stencil.

      Once the stencils are ready, using various bristle brushes in order to get different marks, I stipple and drag the porcelain paint onto the enamel. While it’s wet I use tooth-picks to add any marks to make the surface more interesting. I made the ‘pleats’ on the paper-cases of the cupcakes (see above) in this way. The piece then needs to be set aside until the paint is touch dry. Wait about fifteen minutes before peeling away the plastic stencil. At this stage the porcelain paint is still soft enough to be scraped away with a scalpel blade, sharpening up any smeared edges and adjusting shapes not quite to my liking. I use a soft brush to dust away the loose specks. As with regular stencil work, you’ll find that lighter coats of paint work better than heavy ones. There should be tonal variety to avoid heaviness.

      In three days the paint will be completely cured.

      Be sure to let me know how you do. I’d like to see the results. Good luck.

      • searched the internet and found a pot – its on its way. So looking forward to enjoying the schokolade! and if I decorate it I’ll post you a pic!

        • You should have asked and I would have told you where I got mine from. It’s by Falcon, but there are other designs that I think are rather attractive, with long, serpentine spouts less suitable for a chocolate-pot but fine for coffee.

          Are you purchasing some porcelain pens? Be sure to get the ones with 1 mm fibretips. Marabu do a limited range of colours in that size. These designs have been done with a combination of pens and Marabu Porcelain Paint which is available in bottles. I apply it with brushes through stencils made of the sticky-backed plastic used for covering books. Happy decorating!

          • Well I was going to ask but then I started looking – I do enjoy the search – it was amazing what came up. Some lovely shapes as you say, including a sweet french one in cream with a sprig pattern and a folk art one. But I did like the lid being separate rather than hinged and the wide spout. Yes I found Falcon thanks and I also treated myself to a lovely large white enamel colander, and then stopped before I bought lots more…maybe another day. My kitchen is shaker style so the enamelware fits perfectly.

Leave a comment