colour comes to Glimmerglass

I’m beginning to think about the colour for the cover of Glimmerglass, and here’s the first exploration, a red and turquoise, almost embroidery-on-calico effect. Clearly this is a much simplified and some might say less dramatic version of the strongly marked maquette dragon I’ve previously posted here. (Having a black ground for the cover is still an option I favour.)

Nevertheless I need to play with alternative options before coming to conclusions about how best to serve Marly’s beautiful text, and I can see this little bi-coloured collage on a neutral ground, has qualities that might yet be profitably explored. I worked it with commercially available coloured papers that I lightly stained with boot-polish, but I think it almost certain that I’d make my own coloured papers if I went down this route, and add frottage to them to bring in some of the patterned elements of the black and white image.

 …